The Scheele Award
The Scheele Award was founded in 1961 by the Swedish Pharmaceutical Society to honor the outstanding research career of Carl Wilhelm Scheele. The award has so far been distributed to 45 laureates, including three whom later received the Nobel Prize. The Scheele Award consists of a diploma, a medal and a sum of
200 000 SEK.
Former laureates are among others Sir James W. Black, Wellcome Research Labs, UK (1983), Professor Luc Montagnier, L’Institute Pasteur, Frankrike (1986) and Professor K. Barry Sharpless, The Scripps Research Institute, USA (1991). All these three have later received the Nobelprize; Black in 1988, Montagnier in 2008 and Sharpless in 2001, respectively. The first woman to receive the Scheele Award was Professor Kathleen M. Giacomini, University of California, USA (2011) and the only Swedish laureate so far is professor Mathias Uhlén, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden (2007).

In honor of the Scheele Award Laureate a Scheele Symposium is arranged, usually focusing around the laureate´s area of research interest. The prize ceremony is followed by a Scheele Award lecture were the laureate describes his or her research achievements.


The Swedish Pharmaceutical Society
The Swedish Pharmaceutical Society is a non-profit organization for people engaged in the field of medicinal drugs. The aim of the organization is to further developments in pharmaceutical research and to promote high, professional standards.

Albeit roots back in the 17th century the modern history of the Swedish Pharmaceutical Society started in 1971, when all Swedish pharmacies were integrated into a national company with the State as the majority owner. Since then the activities of the organization, now totally independent from the organization of the pharmacies, have been focused on scientific matters, education and publishing. The body of individual members, approximately 5 500, is geographically divided into 11 regional divisions and 13 specialized scientific sections each governed by a committee, elected by its members.

The organization is the leading national provider of continuing education and post-graduate courses. Regional activities, in collaboration with the various divisions are run in more than 40 locations throughout the country. Annually about 5000 participants attend the centrally organized activities, sharing about 150 days of tuition. The activities encompass a broad spectrum of subjects from generally oriented topics to more specific scientific oriented ones. More than 50 % of the participants emanate from the pharmaceutical industry and an equal number comes from universities, hospitals and community pharmacies.

The organization cooperates on a number of courses with universities and other providers of education inside and outside of Sweden. Also, a number of international symposia and workshops are held under the auspices of Swedish Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

By awarding scholarships and grants the organization provides support for pharmaceutical research and education. Since 1961 a particularly prominent and internationally renowned pharmaceutical scientist has been appointed as the Scheele Laureate in memory of the famous chemist and pharmacist Carl Wilhelm Scheele. The Scheele Laureate is awarded a prize sum of SEK 200.000, a medal and a diploma. A symposium (The Scheele Symposium) is also organized in connection with this event.